Duncan Shoplifting Defense Attorney
Providing Effective & Affordable Legal Counsel to Defendants in Oconee County
Being accused of shoplifting is a very serious matter. It is a crime that is often charged as a misdemeanor, but it is a crime that is often charged as a felony if the value of the stolen items exceeds $2,000. If convicted, you could face steep fines, a lengthy jail or prison sentence, and a criminal record that will follow you for the rest of your life. Hisker Law Firm, PC can help you fight your shoplifting charges and protect your rights. We will fight to have your charges reduced or even dropped, depending on the circumstances.
Call (864) 610-1277 today to schedule your free initial consultation with our Duncan shoplifting defense lawyer.
What Is Shoplifting?
Shoplifting is a general term used to describe the act of stealing merchandise from a store without paying for it. In South Carolina, the crime of shoplifting is referred to as “unauthorized taking of goods.”
Shoplifting is a serious offense in South Carolina, and can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony, depending on the situation concerning the crime. In most cases, the value of the stolen goods will determine if the crime is charged as a misdemeanor or a felony.
Misdemeanor Shoplifting Charges
If the value of the stolen goods is under $2,000, the crime will be charged as a misdemeanor. If convicted, you could face up to 30 days in jail, a fine of up to $500, and 12 months of probation. You may also be required to pay restitution for the stolen goods.
Felony Shoplifting Charges
If the value of the stolen goods is over $2,000, the crime will be charged as a felony. If convicted, you could face up to 5 years in prison, a fine up to $5,000, and up to 5 years of probation. You may also be required to pay restitution for the stolen goods.
Penalties for Repeat Offenders
In South Carolina, if you have been convicted of a shoplifting crime and you are charged with shoplifting again, you will be charged with a felony. This is true even if the value of the stolen goods is less than $2,000. The only exception to this rule is if the second shoplifting charge was committed in a different county.
Other penalties for repeat offenders include:
- A mandatory minimum sentence of 30 days in jail
- A mandatory fine of $1,000
- Restitution for the stolen goods
- Up to 5 years of probation
Penalties for Bringing Shoplifted Goods Into South Carolina
If you are caught bringing shoplifted goods into South Carolina, you may potentially face misdemeanor or felony charges, depending on the value of the goods. If the goods are worth less than $2,000, you could be charged with a misdemeanor. If the goods are worth more than $2,000, you could face a felony charge.
Other penalties for bringing shoplifted goods into South Carolina include:
- Up to 30 days in jail
- A fine of up to $500
- Restitution for the stolen goods
- A permanent criminal record
Contact Our Duncan Shoplifting Defense Attorney Today
If you are facing shoplifting charges, you need an experienced and dedicated Duncan shoplifting defense attorney on your side. At Hisker Law Firm, PC, we will work tirelessly to have your charges reduced or dropped, depending on the circumstances of your case. We will fight to have your charges reduced or dropped, depending on the circumstances.
To schedule your free consultation with our Duncan shoplifting defense attorney, contact Hisker Law Firm, PC today at (864) 610-1277. You can also submit an online request for a free consultation here.
*These results are provided to show the types of cases that Steve Hisker has handled in the past. Nothing provided should create an expectation that Steve Hisker can achieve similar results in any case. Every case is different. Steve will use his experience in an effort to obtain the best result possible in your case.*
Reduced Violent Crimes
Reduced Drug Crimes
Dismissed Violent Crimes