South Carolina Criminal Domestic Violence - CDV - §16-25-20
Criminal Domestic Violence of a High and Aggravated Nature - CDVHAN
In South Carolina, Criminal Domestic Violence or CDV is defined as physically harming or threatening
to physically harm a household member.
possible punishment for CDV in South Carolina:
Offense - up to thirty days in the county jail
2nd Offense - mandatory minimum of thirty
days up to one year
3rd Offense - mandatory minimum of one year up to five years
4th Offense - 1 year mandatory minimum up to 5 years in South Carolina Department of Corrections
If the allegations of CDV also involve the use of
a deadly weapon or serious bodily injury, then the State will likely charge the person with Criminal Domestic Violence of
a High and Aggravated Nature or CDVHAN. In South Carolina, CDVHAN is a felony and carries a mandatory minimum of 1
year up to 10 years in prison.